Photo Visit – The Eatery – August 2012

24 Aug

3431 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC
V6R 2B4

T: 604 738 5298
www.theeatery.ca

Brief Description: A funky and busy sushi hangout, where you will be tempted by a large and unique menu that focuses on innovative rolls. For the less adventurous, traditional sushi items are also available.

Before I moved to Vancouver, I must admit that I was not a fan of sushi. And to be honest, considering the amount of sushi aficionados in this city, I’d probably still rate pretty low on the scale of people who appreciate sushi in all of its cold, slippery, slimy glory. However, I have slowly come around to eating and enjoying sushi, and for that I thank The Eatery. It was regular visits to The Eatery with some of my previous co-workers that opened my eyes to variations of sushi. It dawned on me that it didn’t have to be all about the raw fish.

I had a bit of hiatus from The Eatery, mostly due to my ambivalence towards the fishy stuff, but B and I have recently been back a few times. Our most recent visit was on Sunday night for dinner because, after our trip to Whistler, we couldn’t be bothered cooking. I still always order the tuna tempura to start our meal but, in this case, I was too hungry to wait to photograph it so no photo for you!

Viva Las Vegas roll – Tempura style roll with crab, eel, avocado, cream cheese and spicy misonnaise – $7.50

 Found Nemo roll, which consists of tempura crab, avocado, asparagus, wrapped with seared salmon – $6.95

I still really love the Viva Las Vegas roll but I think the Volcano takes first place for me as best creative roll. The crab tempura in the Found Nemo roll was really quiet unusual with its taste and texture so I wouldn’t likely order that roll again.

You’ll love The Eatery so long as you don’t mind noise, are looking for a fun atmosphere, and aren’t too fussed on service. The service seems to be mostly attractive female students so set your expectations accordingly.

The Eatery on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

