Saskatoon Berry and Rhubarb Crumble

9 Aug

Whilst visiting my in-laws in the Okanagan a few weekends ago, I had the pleasure of poking around in their garden. You may remember that I’m not much of a green thumb yet I absolutely love gardens; flower gardens, vegetable patches, and orchards. To me, gardens are serene and fascinating. How can it not be fascinating to watch seeds or small plants grow into a colourful, edible bounty? Sit in a garden for long enough and it feels as though you can almost see it growing in front of you!

Gardens…good for the soul

We ended up leaving my in-laws place with two bags of just-off-the-shrub saskatoon berries, bundles of freshly pulled rhubarb, and a recipe for Saskatoon Berry and Rhubarb Crumble. Whilst we were visiting, my mother-in-law had made a delicious crumble, bursting with berries and rhubarb. Feeling a little inadequate (it was really good!), I attempted to re-create it at home but as I was feeling lazy I tried to make it with a much easier recipe (based on the Jamie Oliver Apple Crumble recipe).

Quite simply, I stewed the rhubarb and berries together with about half a cup of sugar and then made the oat crumble mix to sprinkle over the top. Unfortunately, the end result wasn’t that tasty and I will follow my mother-in-law’s recipe next time. It sure did look pretty – the reds and the purples created such a rich colour, but the flavour just wasn’t great. Lesson learnt: stick to the recipe!!

2 Responses to “Saskatoon Berry and Rhubarb Crumble”

  1. Airbnb Superhost August 10, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    I just got some rhubarb from a friend…would love to try your Mother-in-laws recipe:)

  2. Rose Taylor August 20, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    It looks good though. Please do share your mother-in-laws recipe. It makes me curious how she does her rhubarb and berries crumble.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

