Brunch at West – Photo Visit – April 2012

2 May

2881 Granville Street
Vancouver, BC
V6H 3J4

T: 604 738 8938
www.westrestaurant.com

Brief Description: One of the gems in the Vancouver restaurant crown. West is where local West Coast ingredients meet fine dining. Prices are high but for the service and the quality, it is not unjustified.

Like most people, I can’t help but share when I discover something that impresses me. I am well aware that I have had an obvious infatuation with the Sunday brunch at West lately – there have been multiple posts – but I make no apologies. And I’ll tell you why.

Two weekends ago B and I convinced ourselves to try somewhere other than West for Sunday morning brunch. I’m not going to name names, but this place was incredibly disappointing…waffles that tasted pre-packaged, fried chicken that was tasteless and oily, and a neighbouring table full of loud, obnoxious guys giving graphic details of their escapades from the night before. I know, I know this sounds super snobby but I couldn’t help but think “If only we’d gone to West!” The price-point is the same but the food at West is always excellent, the service is professional, and it is nice and quiet. Hey, we enjoy quiet! :)

It was back to West for us again this Sunday and I ordered the delightful three onion tart, which is quickly becoming a must-order for me. The caramelized onions, the melted leeks, and the balsamic shallots combined with the crispy filo pastry, create a light but tasty dish which is just perfect for brunch.

Three Onion Tart – $14.50

West, thank you for your standards. And for not seating me next to some guy who is telling his friends about how he threw up all over himself. You’ll be seeing me every Sunday from now on.

West Restaurant + Bar on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Brunch at West – Photo Visit – April 2012”

  1. virginiaplantation May 16, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Beautful plating!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

