Brunch at West – March 2012

26 Mar

2881 Granville Street
Vancouver, BC
V6H 3J4

T: 604 738 8938
www.westrestaurant.com

Brief Description: One of the gems in the Vancouver restaurant crown. West is where local West Coast ingredients meet fine dining. Prices are high but for the service and the quality, it is not unjustified.

My search for a new brunch place to replace my beloved Refuel (now closed) may have already come to an unexpected end, which was much faster than I had anticipated. I hadn’t really even considered brunch at West until recently when I noticed that they are open for Sunday brunch. After perusing the menu, I was more than tempted.

Their brunch menu is quite small, with only six items, but you can also choose from their lunch menu which is more extensive. I didn’t need to look at lunch as I already had difficulties deciding on brunch. The menu has familiar dishes such as eggs benedict made with crispy pork belly, poached eggs, and buttermilk biscuit for $16.50, a Dungeness crab benny at $17, as well as mascarpone stuffed brioche French toast for $15.50. No wonder I was having trouble deciding.

Short Rib Hash

I ended up with the short rib hash with potatoes, mushrooms, housemade brioche, and poached eggs for $17. The meat was tender, the flavours were great, and the dish was extremely satisfying. This dish would keep the “meat and potato” guys extremely happy.

Mushrooms and Eggs

B ordered the mushrooms and eggs, which was also very good, and at $14.50, was fairly well-priced. I would easily order both dishes again.

There are many reasons why I will be returning to West for brunch; the coffee is good, the complimentary housemade bread and chocolate truffles are a nice touch, the service is predictably very attentive (this is West, after all), the prices are not much more than I’ve paid for mediocre breakfast (see my recent Aphrodite post), and, most importantly, the food is excellent. And if I needed further convincing, they also have bottomless mimosas for $19.50.

This isn’t the place to come for brunch in your Sunday sweats but if you are looking for something more upscale than a diner and food that will truly wake you up, then try West. I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

West Restaurant + Bar on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “Brunch at West – March 2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brunch at West- Photo Visit – April 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - April 4, 2012

    [...] so impressed with our recent brunch find at West that we went back again this past weekend. Again, we were impressed. I ordered the West [...]

  2. Brunch at Ensemble Tap – Photo Visit – April 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - May 3, 2012

    [...] best brunch spots. It has been an ongoing saga for quite some time and whilst I have already found my favourite place, they are only open for Sunday brunch, which means that Saturdays are open to exploring [...]

  3. Photo Visit – Lunch at West – August 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - September 3, 2012

    [...] with my love for West but you really can’t go wrong with anything at West. Whether it is brunch, or lunch, or one of their well-executed dinners, West has got it going [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

