Aphrodite Cafe – return visit – March 2012

23 Mar

3594 W 4th Ave
Vancouver, BC
V6R 1N8

T: 604 733 8308
www.organiccafe.ca

It really pains me to write negative reviews but considering that I had written such a positive post on this establishment a few years ago, I feel I need to give an updated review to reflect the changes that I experienced. I do recognize that this might have been a one-off bad day for them but that doesn’t change the fact that our overall experience was incredibly disappointing.

B and I are generally at a loss on weekends when we try to think of a reliable place for brunch. Our usual spot used to be DB Bistro. And then it closed. Now, we frequent Refuel for brunch. And now they are closing (on March 24). And we love Nelson the Seagull. But they aren’t open on Sundays. So what to do? We try new places until somewhere knocks our socks off enough that we return and become regulars. Well, that ain’t gonna happen with Aphrodite Café. We had a few good experiences a few years ago but we haven’t been back recently due to the constant line-up there but we gave it a try this past weekend and I was excited – I wanted pie!

Well, we stood in the doorway (yes, hard to believe that there was no queue) and we waited to be seated as instructed by the sign at the entrance. And we waited. Servers passed us by with no acknowledgement. And we waited. I don’t know about you but I feel that if I’m going to go into an establishment and pay money for food, I would hope to be greeted within a reasonable time frame, even if it is just a “We’ll be with you in a moment”. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case at Aphrodite. We were finally seated and ignored. Again. It took us about 10 minutes to place our order. We discovered dirty cups at our table and after finally getting our order, the food was disappointing. My hash browns were cold and stale as if they had been sitting out for a long time, my benny was cool, and the coffee was awful. The pie? Well, the pie was good actually.

Back Bacon, Baby Arugula & Grilled Tomato Benny

Biscuits and sausage

I feel that the most disappointing part of the experience was the value for money. Aphrodite is not cheap – my benny was $18 – and from what I was served, the price wasn’t justified. I really hope that they were just having a bad day.

4 Responses to “Aphrodite Cafe – return visit – March 2012”

  1. Delightful Discoveries. March 24, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    I think I would love this place :)

  2. Robin March 26, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    That’s a shame. Aphrodites has *always* had slow service – it’s run by a bunch of hippies, after all. That’s kind of the point. Unfortunately, the prices used to be substantially lower and made it a bit more worthwhile.

    No excusing bad food, but hopefully this was just an off day for them. They’re still one of my favourite places to eat in Vancouver (they’re good enough to bring me to the cultural black hole of kitsilano, after all).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Aphrodite Cafe and Pie Shop « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - March 23, 2012

    [...] see updated post as of March [...]

  2. Brunch at West – March 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - March 26, 2012

    [...] all), the prices are not much more than I’ve paid for mediocre breakfast (see my recent Aphrodite post), and, most importantly, the food is excellent. And if I needed further convincing, they [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

