The French Laundry

14 Mar

6640 Washington Street
Yountville, CA
94599
USA

www.frenchlaundry.com

Get ready for some superlatives! What do you expect from a review of a restaurant that has previously been named “The Best Restaurant in the World“? Twice.

The French Laundry is located in the pretty little town of Yountville in Napa Valley. The name was inspired by the cute old building that it resides in that was a French steam laundry back in the early 1900’s. Acclaimed chef, Thomas Keller, took over the space in 1994 and The French Laundry was born. The restaurant is a two-story stone building surrounded by a welcoming garden and the dining room is decorated in a sophisticated and classic style.

Getting a reservation at the French Laundry is no easy feat. It took two people, phoning constantly for an hour and half, just to get through to the reservations department. We were fortunate to get our preferred date immediately, although I’ve heard that this is unusual. You can only make a reservation 2 months prior to the day of your intended visit and with only very limited seating (between 60 and 70 seats, I believe) it can be a challenge.

It doesn’t stop there – once you finally have that reservation (gasp!), you must be sure not to lose it. You need to confirm again 72 hours before your reservation. I was so nervous, I phoned a week out and again at 72 hours. Some people might think that it seems like a lot of effort to go to for a meal but I feel that the “work” it took to dine on the best meal I’ve eaten, was the least I could do. The dress code is also quite strict – no jeans, t-shirts or shorts, and jackets are needed for men. The way I see it, is that if you are going to drop a small fortune on a meal, you may as well look good whilst doing it!

The format is always the same at The French Laundry. All guests select from the two unique nine-course tasting menus created for that day; one is the chef’s tasting and the other a tasting of vegetables. Both menus are $270 each, tip is included, but supplements are extra. Personally, I wouldn’t pay $270 for a tasting menu of vegetables, but that’s just me. I was told that there was no set wine pairing to go with the menu as they prefer to offer suggestions based on your wine preferences. Thankfully they assisted us with making our choices as the iPad wine menu (very cool) was a large and intimidating list.

Service from the beginning, right to the very end, was impeccable. We were constantly tended to without feeling overwhelmed and, for a place so highly regarded, I didn’t feel a sense of arrogance from the staff. In fact, we found them all to be very friendly whilst remaining professional and streamlined in their service.

Sitting at our table and we were instantly provided with the menu for the day and the wine menu. We placed our order and before we knew it the canapés started arriving. The canapés were salmon tartare coronets (cones filled with red onion creme fraiche and topped with salmon tartare) and gruyere gougères (French cheese puffs). Throughout our meal, baskets of fresh bread would show up, tempting us to fill ourselves even more. Salted and unsalted butters were provided to pair with the bread.

1st Course: “Oysters and Pearls” – “Sabayon” of Pearl Tapioca with Island Creek Oysters and White Sturgeon Caviar.

2nd Course: Moulard Duck Foie Gras En Terrine – Celery branch, cara cara orange, juniper yogurt, almond sablé and red ribbon sorrel, served with three different “finishing salts” to sprinkle on the terrine.

3rd Course: Alaskan king crab “sandwich” – San Marzano tomato marmalade, Parmesan, cornichons, romaine lettuce and Haas avocado.

4th Course: Georges Bank Sea Scallops “Confit” – Fava beans, piquillo peppers, braised pine nuts and Serrano ham vinaigrette.

5th Course: Liberty Farm Pekin Duck – Cornbread, cavolo nero, bean purée and barrel-aged maple.

6th Course: Elysian fields farm lamb – “Ribettes”, medjool dates, cauliflower, toasted cashews and madras curry jus.

7th Course: Andante Dairy “Partita” – Royal Blenheim apricot “Membrillo”, fennel and saba vinegar.

8th Course: Cream Yogurt Sherbet – Toasted oats, pomegranate, oxalis and osmanthus “nuage”  (tea foam).

9th Course: My dessert: Meyer Lemon “Parfait” – Oregon Huckleberries, Sicilian pistachios and poppy-seed ice-cream

9th Course: B’s dessert: “Marjolaine” – Praline mousse, dacquoise, and roasted banana sorbet.

After the menu had been served, the extras just kept coming (and coming!); freshly fried doughnut holes, espresso semi-freddo, cappuccinos, house-made chocolates, and roasted macadamia nuts rolled in caramel and chocolate. We also received a final gift of freshly baked shortbread cookies to take home. Sadly, I just couldn’t fit these exquisite treats in. I had reached my limit. Thankfully, they beautifully packaged these delights for us to take home to enjoy later. We were also provided with a copy of the menu in its very own folder (a foodie keepsake). The meal finished extremely strong because of all of these thoughtful touches.

All of the dishes were outstanding but my favourite was the 2nd course of foie gras terrine. It was creamy, rich, and glossy as it spread on to the warm, freshly baked brioche accompaniment. I also loved that they replaced the cooled brioche with warm toast. I thoroughly enjoyed my first taste of caviar with the 1st course of “Pearls and Oysters” – the sweetness of the oysters paired well with the creaminess of this dish. The duck and the lamb were superbly cooked. I am still perplexed how they got the duck skin so crispy but the flesh so tender. I wasn’t too fond of the curry cauliflower with the lamb, nor the sheep cheese course. That is a personal taste however, and I did eat some of it but remain firm on my dislike of the “tang” of goat and sheep cheese.

Final Thoughts: Yes, the price is expensive. Like really expensive. But the way I see it is that this was one of my bucket-list items – an experience I wanted to have before I die so I’m thrilled to have had the opportunity to do this. I don’t spend my money on expensive “stuff” like bags, shoes, gadgets, or a car, so this is my splurge. For me, the anticipation, the experience, and the memories, all make the price worth it to me.

Would I do it again? Absolutely. Was the food spectacular? Yes. Some dishes were more memorable than others but overall the menu was well structured and all of the added extras such as canapés, fresh bread, delectable desserts and baked gifts, made the meal truly indulgent. If the thought of spending a lot of money on food freaks you out, do not go to The French Laundry. As amazing as the food and the experience is, if you can’t get over the price then it won’t matter how great the food is, you will not enjoy it and it won’t be worth it for you. But if food is your passion and the experience of eating out and getting spoilt excites you, then try to get there once in your life time. It is an experience that you will remember forever.

French Laundry on Urbanspoon

17 Responses to “The French Laundry”

  1. Mia March 14, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Hey I’d be curious to hear what wines you tried or what they recommended with your dishes! Very nice photos (as always). What did you think of the scallops confit? That seems interesting.

    • greedyguts March 15, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Thanks Mia. I started my meal with the Extra Brut, “Cuvée French Laundry,” followed by the “Haardter Bürgergarten” Riesling, and then I finished with a glass of red wine that isn’t on their current wine menu. He said that the wine wasn’t even available in stores yet – sorry, I don’t remember the name of that one. B also had that red wine and then he had the Hirsch Pinot Noir and the Barolo, “Vigna dei Dardi,” Riserva. All of the wines were fantastic.

      The scallops was delicious! It wasn’t my favourite dish but I have no complaints.

  2. Angie March 15, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Woohoo! So glad you made it there! And I’m glad you loved it too. You and B are traveling up a storm these days – lucky you :)

    • greedyguts March 16, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Did you love it there too? I couldn’t find your write up on your blog. We are very fortunate to be travelling so much these days. Hopefully next up is Italy and then Japan. We still want to make it to Chicago (Alinea) and New York but those might have to wait. Still recovering financially from San Fran!

      • Angie March 16, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

        I did love it there! It was my first big fine dining experience though, so it was quite overwhelming. I think my Per Se experience was better as a result, but I just love anything from Thoma Keller.

        I am going to Alinea in two weeks – SO excited!

        And I am totally with you on financial recovery and San Fran – it took us a long time to recover too :)

      • greedyguts March 16, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

        Per Se is next on the list too! I do love Thomas Keller too. This is your second visit to Alinea? Will you write it up? I saw an awesome dish they are doing that is an edible balloon! So innovative.

  3. viceology August 2, 2012 at 4:11 am #

    Reblogged this on .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Napa Valley « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - March 22, 2012

    [...] and I made a fairly early trip into Yountville the morning after our trip to The French Laundry yet we already found a fairly hefty line of people outside of Bouchon Bakery. When we joined the [...]

  2. New York, I’m coming for you!! « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - August 30, 2012

    [...] night reservation. Per Se, here we come! Why the focus on Per Se? Well, we were blown away by our The French Laundry experience earlier this year, so we know it is going to be good, but I’m intrigued because [...]

  3. Per Se – New York « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - October 2, 2012

    [...] we didn’t hesitate to book Per Se when we went to New York, even though we had only been at The French Laundry back in March. We could not visit New York and not check this bucket-list item [...]

  4. Too much of a good thing? « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - October 15, 2012

    [...] old adage “Too much of a good thing”. For a foodie, I equated to this meaning that if I ate at The French Laundry every day, after a certain period of time I wouldn’t get the same pleasure that I would get if I [...]

  5. Le Chateaubriand – Paris « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - December 20, 2012

    [...] How would I rate it against the likes of other “best restaurants in the world” such as The French Laundry, Per Se, or Eleven Madison Park? Well, those restaurants are quite different so it is a little [...]

  6. My Year in Review – 2012 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - December 26, 2012

    [...] The French Laundry, Napa Valley [...]

  7. Photo Visit – Hawksworth – January 2013 « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - January 13, 2013

    [...] was easily the foie gras parfait (which we ordered off the appetizer menu). It reminded me of The French Laundry’s foie gras en terrine, which was one of the best things that I ate last year. I would definitely go [...]

  8. Thomas Keller’s Salmon Crisps | The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - March 10, 2013

    [...] I realized that it has been a year since my visit to The French Laundry. Our evening at TFL will always be one of the highlights of my life – everything about it was [...]

  9. The Most Memorable Dishes That I’ve Eaten | The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - June 14, 2013

    […] Foie Gras En Terrine – The French Laundry, Napa […]

  10. Verjus, Paris | The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - November 9, 2013

    […] I love a good “fancy” meal, such as a dinner at The French Laundry or Eleven Madison Park, the value still has to be there. I don’t mind dropping some serious […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

