Cake decorating and Cookie Monster

10 Nov

There is something to be said about acquiring a new skill, whatever that skill may be. I *might* just be a little bit proud of myself that I have learnt how to control those pesky frosting bags and can now wield them to create something somewhat pretty. Yay me!

Thanks to the Wilton cake decorating class held at Michael’s I now know how to create stars, shells, borders, flowers, rosettes, leaves, shaggy mums, and roses. The class was a lot of fun and the pay-off for a few hours of my time and not too much money was that I now have more confidence with decorating. As someone who loves to bake, I think the skill is an important one to have learnt.

As per my foodie goals I wanted to decorate a cupcake properly. Here are three that I frosted which I think allows me to check that off my list.

The most interesting part of the class for me was finding out that things that seemed intimidating (roses, for example) were actually quite easy when it is taught to you. It’s kinda like a light goes on – “Ahhhh!” – and you realize it isn’t as hard as you thought.

In our final class we were able to decorate a cake anyway we wanted – free reign! Woo hoo! I decided to re-create the lovable Cookie Monster (he has an addiction close to my heart). This was more time-consuming than difficult but I was pretty happy with the way he turned out but, of course, there is always room for improvement.

I’m really happy that I took the leap and signed up for this class. It did feel a little rushed at times but nothing that a little practice at home won’t solve. I can’t wait to get in the kitchen with some freshly baked cupcakes to see what I can create with my newly acquired skills.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

