Cornucopia Food and Wine Festival

15 Sep

Have you heard of the Cornucopia Food and Wine Festival? Until recently, I didn’t know too much about it, nor did I know how much fun it sounds like it could be. B and I met another foodie couple at the recent Araxi Long Table Dinner and after listening in awe to their Cornucopia tales, I knew that we would be back in Whistler for Cornucopia. They dangled the lure and I happily took the bait.

Cornucopia is Whistler’s annual food and wine festival that is held over 4 days in November. This year is the 15th anniversary and it will be celebrated from November 10th through to the 13th (if you know your BC stat holidays, you’ll have noticed that it falls on a long weekend). Local and regional chefs and wineries (to name but a few) will be offering a plethora of events, including gala wine tastings, winemaker dinners, interactive seminars, chef’s luncheons, and booze-filled after parties.

The whole weekend sounds like a truly indulgent affair that will leave even the most seasoned gourmand satisfied. Ideally, I’d love to attend almost every event on the tightly packed schedule, but alas, the cost of some of these events means that we had to be quite selective.

We have selected to do the Araxi “Big Guns” dinner – 8 courses, 10 paired wines – and the popular “Bubbles and Oceans”, also to be held at Araxi. “Bubbles and Oceans” sounds like an adult wonderland, with 30 different sparkling wines (oh my!), stations of sushi, Dungeness crab, and freshly shucked oysters. My sources tell me that there was also a vodka fountain last year…I have my fingers crossed that it will be repeated this year.

Hope to see you there! Better get your tickets fast though as I’ve heard that a lot of the events sell out. Official website and more information on events and tickets can be found here.

One Response to “Cornucopia Food and Wine Festival”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Foodie Goals – 3 months left! « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - October 2, 2011

    […] attending the Araxi Long Table Dinner. We love it so much that we have also booked tickets for the Cornucopia Araxi “Big Guns” dinner and the “Bubbles and Ocean’s” […]

Leave a comment