Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches

13 Sep

Once I get an idea in my head (especially an idea that concerns something as important as cookies) I can find it very hard to shake. I was in Seattle back in July for a work meeting and whilst I was there I made it a priority to pop into Dahlia Bakery to stuff my face with a few of their peanut butter cookies. Ever since, I couldn’t stop thinking about how great they are. Sure, one cookie probably contains a weeks’ worth of calories but it seems that all yummy things do.

My brilliant idea was to try to replicate these cookies at home (bet you didn’t see that one coming! ;) ). With the wheels in motion, I did what I know best and went searching online for cookie recipes that just *might* work. I found a suitable recipe at “Macaroni and Cheesecake” and I used a peanut butter frosting that I have used on cupcakes. Whilst they didn’t turn out exactly as I’d hoped (not peanut butter-y enough for me) they were still pretty good. When you are eating them, just close your eyes and forget all about the calories.

Oatmeal Cookies

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 tablespoon of honey
1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats

Method:
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Cover baking sheets with parchment paper, set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer cream together the butter, brown sugar, and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, honey and vanilla and beat until incorporated.

In a separate medium sized bowl whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Slowly add the flour mixture into the butter mixture and mix just until incorporated. Stir in oats until evenly distributed. Transfer dough to a large mixing bowl (this is so you can use stand mixer bowl for the frosting) and chill in refrigerator for 15 minutes.

Remove dough from refrigerator and drop by tablespoons onto baking sheet (or even a bit smaller for smaller cookies). Bake for 8 to 10 minutes just until the edges start to brown. Cookies will seem moist in the middle but they will set up. Cool on baking sheet until set and then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Peanut Butter Frosting

1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 cup creamy peanut butter
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
¾ teaspoon vanilla extract
¼ teaspoon kosher salt
1/3 cup heavy cream

Method:
Place the confectioners’ sugar, peanut butter, butter, vanilla and salt in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on medium-low speed until creamy, scraping down the bowl with a rubber spatula as you work. Add the cream and beat on high speed until the mixture is light and smooth.

Once the cookies have cooled, on the underside of one cookie spread the peanut butter frosting and top with another cookie. Store in an airtight container.

I found the cookie recipe at the very cool blog “Macaroni and Cheesecake“.

3 Responses to “Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches”

  1. Stephanie September 13, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Yours look delicious! Great idea to sandwich them with pb frosting!

    • greedyguts September 13, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      Thanks Stephanie! I love your idea with the marshmallow. Both peanut butter and marshmallow rock so I don’t think you can go wrong with either!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dark Chocolate (or Vanilla) Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting « The Culinary Adventures of a Greedy Guts - November 4, 2012

    [...] Peanut butter and chocolate. Those words seem to induce instant weakness in most people. I, too, find resistance futile. Whilst perusing (and drooling over) my new favourite blog, ”Brown Eyed Baker” my eyes rested upon the words “Peanut Butter Frosting” and that was it. I was hooked. I had to make these cupcakes. Without a doubt, the frosting was definitely my favourite part and have also made the frosting to go with vanilla cupcakes (photos included below). Someone also suggested using the frosting for a cookie sandwich, which I tried on a peanut butter cookie sandwich.  [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

